The Dupont Group News

Hassan creates state government efficiency commission

CONCORD — Gov. Maggie Hassan created by executive order Wednesday a 19-member Governor’s Commission on State Government Innovation, Efficiency and Transparency, charged with making recommendations for modernizing state government, improving efficiency, measuring the performance of state agencies and improving transparency.

The panel includes experts from the private business, nonprofit, higher education and local government sectors, Hassan’s office said.

Hassan announced her intention to create the commission during her budget address in February.

She also proposed a separate Office of Innovation and Efficiency for the state Administrative Services Department, to include four staffers.

She had included funding for that office in her budget and it was approved by the House. But the Senate Finance Committee voted to de-fund it last week, at a savings, the committee said, of $532,000 over the next two fiscal years.

Hassan spokesman Marc Goldberg said commission is separate from the proposed new office and any cost will be funded by the governor’s office budget.

In a statement, Hassan said, “State agencies have worked hard in recent years to do more with less, but we must always be looking for new ways to innovate in state government in order to improve efficiency, cut red tape and save taxpayer dollars. By harnessing the expertise of both the public and private sectors to come up with new ideas and approaches, the commission will help reposition state government for the challenges of the 21st Century.”

According to Hassan’s office, commission members “will examine the organization of state government and opportunities for reducing redundancies or streamlining services; how to improve government processes, including the use of technology; the state’s contracting and relationship with its nonprofit partners, quasi-governmental agencies and local communities; performance metrics for state government and for improving transparency; and other methods that members believe will improve the efficiency and effectiveness of state government in order to deliver cost-effective quality services to the people of New Hampshire.”

The commission will be chaired by Eric Herr, a member of the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation board of directors and former chief executive officer of Autodesk who formerly chaired an innovation commission for the New Hampshire Judicial Branch.

Other members are:

– Maureen Beauregard, President and Founder of Families in Transition

– Howard Brodsky, Co-Founder, Chairman and Co-Chief Executive Officer of CCA Global Partners

– Jon Freeman, President of Northern Community Investment Corporation

– Dianne Mercier, New Hampshire President for People’s United Bank

– John Morrison, Chairman of Hitchiner Manufacturing

– Robert Oden, Chairman of the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center Board of Trustees and former President of Carleton College and Kenyon College

– Timothy Ranney, strategic finance executive and Volunteer Business Leader and Partner to the Vice President of Disaster Services at the American Red Cross

– Jim Bouley, Mayor of Concord

– Sen. Sharon Carson, chair of the Senate Executive Departments and Administration Committee

– Rep. Lucy Weber, chair of the House Executive Departments and Administration Committee

– Tom Burack, Commissioner of the state Department of Environmental Services

– Christopher Clement, Commissioner of the state Department of Transportation

– Ed Dupont, president The Dupont Group and former state Senate president, who chaired a government reform commission in the early 1990s

– Linda Hodgdon, Commissioner of the state Department of Administrative Services

– Mark Huddleston, President of the University of New Hampshire

– Diana Lacey, President of the State Employees’ Association

– Kristyn Van Ostern, Director of Strategy for the Community College System of New Hampshire

– Pamela Walsh, Hassan’s chief of staff

The commission’s first meeting will be June 13.